Makedonien (Macedonia)
German Occupation

Quick history:
Macedonia was annexed and divided between Greater Albania and Greater Bulgaria following the invasion and occupation of Yugoslavia in April, 1941 by Germany and Axis allies Italy, Hungary, Albania, and Bulgaria. The Tetovo, Gostivar, Struga, Kichevo, and Debar districts of Western Macedonia were annexed and incorporated into an enlarged Albanian state, or Greater Albania, sponsored by Adolf Hitler and Benito Mussolini. Eastern Macedonia, including the capital Skopje, Bitola, and Shtip, were annexed to Greater Bulgaria. Western Macedonia was occupied by the Italian Army and was under Italian administration until the Italian surrender in 1943 when it was re-occupied by Germany.